Caribbean Sub-Regional Coordination Platform

The Sub-regional Platform brings together UN member organisations and various governmental, non-governmental, international and civil society organisations, and other international cooperation bodies.

Objectives

To promote the coordination of the RMRP activities aiming to ensure assistance, integration, and protection of refugees and migrants, and jointly deliver an effective and efficient response to their material needs, in complementarity and reinforcing the country’s government’s response.

Structure

The Caribbean Sub-Regional Platform covers Aruba, Curaçao, Dominican Republic, Guyana, and Trinidad & Tobago. This team works closely with the national co-leads for each country, where standing Refugee and Migrant Working Groups are the main national coordination mechanism.

Diagram showing structure of the Caribbean Sub-regional Coordination Platform

INTER-AGENCY COORDINATION

Luísa Cruz

lucruz@iom.int

Maria Chiara Massetti

massetti@unhcr.org

INFORMATION MANAGEMENT

Shivanand Willie

swillie@iom.int

Heidi Hunter

hunter@unhcr.org

REPORTING

Sunita Maharaj

smaharajland@iom.int

 

GBV SUBSECTOR COORDINATION

Titian-Rose Whittle

whittle@unfpa.org

National Coordinators

Aruba Sandra Peña

scisneros@iom.int

Hezaker Goze Ozdemir

ozdemirh@unhcr.org

Curaçao Karen Wouters

kwouters@iom.int

Hezaker Goze Ozdemir

ozdemirh@unhcr.org

Dominican Republic Josue Gastelbondo

jgastelbondo@iom.int

Gabriel Godoy

godoy@unhcr.org

Guyana Eraina Yaw

eyaw@iom.int

Henri-Sylvain Yakara

yakara@unhcr.org

Trinidad and Tobago Jewel Ali

jali@iom.int

Miriam Aertker

aertker@unhcr.org

Caribbean Overview

One pager
RMRP 2023-2024 Caribbean 2-Pager
27 Nov 2022

Read document
Dashboard/Infographic, Factsheet
2023-24 Caribbean RMRP Partners
12 Jan 2023

Overview of Caribbean partner organizations in the 2023-2024 RMRP.

Read document
Dashboard/Infographic
R4V Caribbean Subregional Coordination Platform Structure
13 Dec 2022

Organigram showing the coordination structure of the Caribbean R4V Sub-regional Platforms.

Read document
Factsheet
Legal Framework Factsheet - Caribbean
22 Mar 2021

Summary of international, regional and national instruments and mechanisms relating to migration and international protection

Read document

Country Factsheets

One pager, Factsheet
2022 RMRP Aruba Factsheet
15 Feb 2022

Summary of the situation, planning scenario, and response priorities for the Refugee and Migrant Response Plan for 2022 in Aruba.

Read document
One pager, Factsheet
2022 RMRP Curaçao Factsheet
15 Feb 2022

Summary of the situation, planning scenario, and response priorities for the Refugee and Migrant Response Plan for 2022 in Curaçao.

Read document
One pager, Factsheet
2022 RMRP Dominican Republic Factsheet
15 Feb 2022

Summary of the situation, planning scenario, and response priorities for the Refugee and Migrant Response Plan for 2022 in Dominican Republic.

Read document
One pager, Factsheet
2022 RMRP Guyana Factsheet
22 Feb 2022

Summary of the situation, planning scenario, and response priorities for the Refugee and Migrant Response Plan for 2022 in Guyana.

Read document
One pager, Factsheet
2022 RMRP Trinidad & Tobago Factsheet
15 Feb 2022

Summary of the situation, planning scenario, and response priorities for the Refugee and Migrant Response Plan for 2022 in Trinidad & Tobago.

Read document

Sector Background Notes

Factsheet
Integration Background Notes - Caribbean
21 May 2021

Context and challenges for integration of displaced Venezuelans in the Caribbean

Read document
Factsheet
Health Background Notes - Caribbean
09 Dec 2020

Health issues and health care situation for refugees and migrants in the Caribbean R4V context

Read document
Factsheet
Education Sector Background Notes - Caribbean
03 Jun 2021

Background notes on education situation and response in the Caribbean R4V context, updated June 2021

Read document
Factsheet
Trafficking in Persons Background Notes - Caribbean
25 Aug 2020

Detailed situation and analysis of human trafficking and smuggling in the Caribbean; overview of the R4V response.

Read document